Angulate Tortoises

Map of South Africa

map of south africa

This map shows South African provinces, major cities, national roads, national parks, and UNESCO [offsite link] World Heritage sites (green boxes). The nine provinces (white boxes) are: Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, North-West, and Western Cape. Dassen Island (not shown) is on the west coast, north of Cape Town and Robben Island.

Map courtesy of (royalty free).


Vegetation in South Africa

vegetation in south africa

Map of vegetation in South Africa, 1979. Climate in South Africa is mostly semiarid, but subtropical along part of the coast. Days are sunny and nights are cool.

Map courtesy of the University of Texas Libraries, University of Texas at Austin (pd).


Back to Angulate tortoise page.
For a listing of all pages at, go to the sitemap.